skip to main content

Departments, Commissions & Agencies

The structure of government in Los Angeles County is very complex, with 500 political districts having varying responsibilities and constituencies. These are sometimes referred to as "separate but related agencies." They may be city councils, school boards, transportation agencies, water districts, air quality districts, cemetery districts, sanitation boards, or a myriad of other special districts. Many are headed by elected officials, while others have appointed members. Additionally, within the County government, there are 37 departments and approximately 200 committees and commissions. Government of the people, by the people and for the people is an appropriate description for L.A. County.


List of Agencies
There are numerous agencies that perform services for residents that are not under the jurisdiction of the Board of Supervisors. These are sometimes referred to as county-related agencies.

List of Departments
There are 36 departments within the County of Los Angeles. Some report directly to the Board of Supervisors, while others report through the Chief Executive Officer.
Los Angeles County Organizational Chart
  |   Principal Administrative Head, Photos   |  Principal Administrative Units, Functions   |  Salaries   |  

List of Commission/Committees
The Board of Supervisors has established numerous committees and commissions to involve the public in County-related issues and to advise and make recommendations to the Board on those issues.
Commission Fact Sheets
  |   Commission Publications   |  Commission Services

Departments, Commissions & Agencies Links

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | # | All

Did You Know?

  • All five county supervisors sit on the Metropolitan Transit Authority board of directors, which has 13 voting members.
  • Two county supervisors serve as members of the Local Agency Formation Commission, but it is not a county agency.
  • The superintendent and Board of Education members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors, but the County Office of Education is a state agency.
  • The Board of Supervisors appoints the members of the county committees and commissions.
  • There are 36 county departments.
The website has made reasonable efforts to provide an accurate translation. However, no automated or computerized translation is perfect and is not intended to replace human or traditional translation methods. The official text is the English version of website. If any questions arise concerning the accuracy of the information presented by the translated version of the website, please refer to the English edition of the website, which is the official version.
Online Services View Full List
Property & Municipal Services Health & Mental Health Services
Public Safety Children & Family Services
Business Services Recreation & Culture Services